Tuesday, January 11, 2011

AMA Supercross Series 2011 Opens at Angel's Stadium, LA

The 2011 AMA Supercross series (also an FIM World Championship) got underway in front of a capacity crowd of 45,000 fans Saturday, January 8th at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Los Angeles. 

Kawasaki rider Ryan Vilopoto stepped up to the podium in first position and Suzuki's Ryan Dunney took second position.
Yamaha rider and 2009 championship title holder, James Stewart (pictured above) took the third position on his YZ450F. The series of 17 indoor races continues Saturday (Jan. 15th) at Chase Field in Phoenix. Source: yamaha-racing.com

The 25 year old Floridian was competing in his first Main Event in almost a year and had to exercise patience and caution in recovering from a mid-pack start to work his way onto the podium. “There were only two spots on the track where you could do it [overtake] and I was just trying to make sure I made clean passes,” he said. “You know, it’s hard; you get in one side of the track and just follow all the way from the sand section until you get back through the whoops. Overall I’m happy though. Coming from 17th to third, I think that’s pretty good and lets me know that I still have the speed. Get a couple good starts and I think we’ll be right there.”
While Stewart needed half of the twenty laps to reach the leading group and was then unable to shut-down the four-five second gap to defending number one Ryan Dungey and winner Ryan Villopoto other Yamaha riders such as Kyle Chisholm and Nick Wey found the difficult track even harder going as they placed 11th and 12th respectively. Stewart’s new team-mate, Kyle Regal, was 13th.  

Nick Paluzzi was the highest runner on the YZ250F with ninth place in the first round of the West Coast SX Lites.  

James Stewart

2011 AMA-SX United States
Angel Stadium 10/01/201120 Laps
1Ryan VillopotoKawasakiUSA19'55.986 
2Ryan DungeySuzukiUSA0'03.671 
3James StewartYamahaUSA0'05.700 
4Trey CanardHondaUSA0'09.832 
5Chad ReedHondaAUS0'27.453 
6Kevin WindhamHondaUSA0'32.742 
7Ivan TedescoKawasakiUSA0'37.591 
8Brett MetcalfeSuzukiAUS0'45.981 
9Josh GrantHondaUSA0'49.902 
10Andrew ShortKTMUSA0'54.349 
11Kyle ChisholmYamahaUSA0'58.861 
12Nicholas WeyYamahaUSA-1Laps 
13Kyle RegalYamahaUSA-1Laps 
14Mike AlessiKTMUSA-1Laps 
15Jason ThomasSuzukiUSA-1Laps 
16Justin BraytonYamahaUSA-1Laps 
19David D MillsapsYamahaUSA-2Laps 
20Thomas HahnYamahaUSA-17Laps 
AMA-SX World Standing
Rider StandingsAfter Race 1 of 17
1.Ryan VillopotoKawasakiUSA25
2.Ryan DungeySuzukiUSA22
3.James StewartYamahaUSA20
4.Trey CanardHondaUSA18
5.Chad ReedHondaAUS16
6.Kevin WindhamHondaUSA15
7.Ivan TedescoKawasakiUSA14
8.Brett MetcalfeSuzukiAUS13
9.Josh GrantHondaUSA12
10.Andrew ShortKTMUSA11
11.Kyle ChisholmYamahaUSA10
12.Nicholas WeyYamahaUSA9
13.Kyle RegalYamahaUSA8
14.Mike AlessiKTMUSA7
15.Jason ThomasSuzukiUSA6
16.Justin BraytonYamahaUSA5
19.David D MillsapsYamahaUSA2
20.Thomas HahnYamahaUSA1

Lap Record:
(Ricky Carmichael , 01/01/2006)
Last Years Winner:
Ryan Dungey
Manufacturer Standings