Sunday, October 16, 2011

Bike Builder Joe Palermo Wins Big At Biketoberfest 2011

Florida bike builder Joe Palermo's newest custom bike, "Rocket Ship" is making a clean sweep of bike shows. Congrats on "Best of Show" wins at the  Biketoberfest 2011 Boardwalk Show and Rat's Hole Show, this weekend in Daytona Beach.

"Rocket Ship" is Joe Palermo's streamlined tribute to BMX bikes. A 3.5 gallon gas tank is tucked away under the seat. An electric pump moves gasoline through the arched double rail frame. Oil is fed to the 120” Merch Engine via the down tubes of the frame. The bike has a modified Harley Springer front end and 21" wheels. Details: World Class Customs.

Earlier this year, Rocket Ship took 1st place at the Daytona Bike Week Boardwalk Show and 1st place radical at DeLand Bike Rally, along with 2nd place over 1000cc radical in the Daytona Bike Week Rat's Hole Show.

Here's a list of trophy winners at the 21st Annual Boardwalk Classic Bike Show
Friday, Oct. 13, 2011 at the boardwalk in Daytona Beach.

Best of Show:  Joe Palermo, Edgewater, FL; 2009 Custom "Rocket Bike"
The Judge's Trophy went to Will Robertson, St. Petersburg, Florida for his 2001 Yamaha Custom "Star of the Orient"

First Place Winners:
People's Choice:  T.D. Ward, Chesterfield, MO;  2012 Rods & Rides Custom
Special Custom:  Tony Chrome, Canton, MI;  2003 Harley Davidson FLHTI
Evo/V-Twin:  Pam Miller, FL;  2005 Ridley Autoglide (the pink bike)
Radical Evo:  Shane Phillips, Pataskala, OH;  2011 Custom Bagger
Radical Softail:  Enno Gogolin, Alpharetta, GA;  2005 Daytec Chopper
Shovelhead:  Shawn Hart, Altoona, PA;  2011 Custom/' 73 H-D
Panhead:  Scott Fox, Shelbyville, IN;  Capone's 2011 Bobber
Sportster:  Mel Moore, Webster, FL;  H-D Sporty
Radical Sportster:  Beth Roberts, Highmore, SD;  '93 Sportster
Dresser:  James Bradwell, Sanford, FL;  2001 Roadglide
Paint:  Will Robertson, St. Petersburg, FL;  2001 Yamaha Custom
Sport Bike:  Stan Nitkowski, Boynton Beach, FL;  '95 Sporty
Vintage:  Shawn Hart, Altoona, PA;  '73 H-D
Chopper:  Kim Brandell, Key Largo, FL;  Custom Trike
Trike:  Roy Maxwell, Daytona Beach, FL;  '10 Gateway Custom
Metric:  Lee Cara, Brandon, FL;  2001 Yamaha Road Star
Radical Metric:  JBA Custom Cycles, Cape Coral, FL;  '09 Hayabusa
Rat:  Larry Mason, Yulee, FL;  '94 Sportster H-D

Second Place Winners:
People's Choice:  T.D. Ward, Chesterfield, MO;  2012 Rods & Rides  (different bike)
Special Custom:  John Shipley, Bloomfield, IN;  2011 Custom Bobber
Evo/V-Twin:  Michael Sweeney, Edgewater, FL;  '06 Streetglide
Radical Evo:  Cory Edwards, Oak Hill, OH;  1985 Harley Davidson
Radical Softail:  Bill Gastovich, Port Orange, FL;  '06 Rucker Predator
Shovelhead:  Donald Laird, Pt. St. Lucie, FL;  2011 Shovelhead
Panhead:  David Machesny, Pompano, FL;  '52 H-D
Sportster:  Karen Robey, Daytona Beach, FL;  '97 Sporty
Radical Sportster:  Bernie "The Warrior" Tatro, Edgewater, FL;  '74 Sporty
Dresser:  Bad Dad Adam Robinson, Ft. Wayne, IN;  '07 Harley
Paint:  Jeri Exner, Clearwater, FL;  '07 Custom
Vintage:  Jason Grimes, Windham, ME;  '82 Sporty Custom
Chopper:  Enno Gogolin, Alpharetta, GA;  '05 Daytec Chopper
Trike:  Leona Jones, Ocala, FL;  '04 Suzuki
Metric:  Jim Harvey, Summefield, FL;  '07 Honda Trike
Radical Metric:  Will Robertson, St. Pete, FL;  '01 Yamaha

Third Place Winners:
People's Choice:  Sandy O'Connell, Deland, FL;  '97 Softail
Special Custom:  Tom Winter, Dyersburg, TN;  '02 Boss Hoss
Evo/V-Twin:  Tinker, Arcadia, FL;  '97 Electraglide Classic
Radical Evo:  Carol George, McKeesport, PA;  '07 Ironhead
Radical Softail:  Mario Masse, Quebec, Quebec;  '89 Softail
Sportster:  John Shipley, Bloomfield, IN;  '08 Custom Bobber
Dresser:  Bad Dad Jacob Hinsey, Fort Wayne, IN;  '03 Road King
Paint:  Jeri Exner, Clearwater, FL;  '06 Custom Chopper
Vintage:  Rex Fox, Williamsburg, OH;  '59 Cushman Super Eagle
Chopper:  Streamline Design, Stuart, FL;  2012 Streamline Design
Trike:  Jim Harvey, Summerfield, FL;  2007 Honda Trike
Metric:  Moe Roberts, Tampa, FL;  1969 Honda CB750

Sponsored by Full Throttle Magazine, Pepsi-Cola, and the Daytona Beach Boardwalk Merchants - Trophies sponsored by the Vasilaros Law Firm
Promotors:  Dino Paspalakis and Bill Chaffin
Emcee:  Bill Chaffin
Trophy Girl:  "Crystal", Bloomfield, IN
Special Thanks to the judging team from Springfield, VA